It’s been in the upper seventies through the entire weekend. With the exception of a thunderstorm predicted for tomorrow morning, the hot* warm weather is supposed to continue throughout the week. It’s still winter, and I’m melting. The Husbeast and I had The Air Conditioning Discussion yesterday evening and decided that we’d postpone turning on the window units until temperatures become unbearable. I have a feeling it’s going to turn into some kind of ironman competition to see how long we can go without cooling, seeing as how we’re both pretty damn stubborn. The seedlings, however, oblivious to conversations about cooled air, are very happy! Tomatoes, Swiss Chard, and Lupine have all started sprouting. This has me impatient about the peppers and the cacti, and I have to keep reminding myself that I just planted the little guys on Thursday.

After a trip to the Harley dealership yesterday afternoon (because we’ve now reached an age and status wherein going and looking at motorcycles and overpriced bike gear is really cool – God, if we ever have a kid, it’s going to hate us) we stopped by Lowe’s and I picked up some caladium tubers. This is shaping up to be a very exciting spring – I love knowing that I will never, ever have to give up my houseplants again, and that I’m free (within reason) to start an indoor collection that could last for years to come. Pretty cool. Hot. Whatever.

*The Husbeast says that weather in the upper seventies is warm. I say it’s hot. However, I’ll go with warm for the time being, all things being relative. That and my use of adjectives to describe temperature tend to be somewhat limited, unless you count creative use of the f-word.

